The title screen of EarthBound.
EarthBound owned by Nintendo.
Images used for educational purposes only.
One of the oddest RPGs ever created, EarthBound hit the shores of North America in 1995 for the SNES. Originally known as Mother 2, a sequel to the NES RPG Mother, EarthBound tells the story of a young man tapped to stop an alien invasion. A great deal of silliness and dozens of pop-culture oddities follow him on his journey. 

Though not a great success upon release, EarthBound developed a strong cult following thanks to its quirky, sometimes emotional story and solid game play, and enjoyed a rerelease on the Wii U's Virtual Console in 2013.

Main Story

Part 1: The Meteor
Part 2: Onett
Part 3: The Sharks
Part 4: Giant Step
Part 5: Twoson
Part 6: Peaceful Rest Valley
Part 7: Happy Happy Village
Part 8: Lilliput Steps
Part 9: Threed
Part 10: Winters
Part 11: Saturn Valley
Part 12: Grapefruit Falls and Milky Well
Part 13: Dusty Dunes Desert
Part 14: Fourside
Part 15: Gold Mine
Part 16: Fourside Department Store and Moonside
Part 17: Monkey Cave and the Monotoli Building
Part 18: Rainy Circle and Summers
Part 19: Magnet Hill and Pink Cloud
Part 20: Scaraba
Part 21: Dungeon Man
Part 22: Deep Darkness
Part 23: Stonehenge Base
Part 24: Lumine Hall
Part 25: Lost Underworld
Part 26: Fire Spring
Part 27: Magicant and Onett
Part 28: Cave of the Past and Giygas